Kia Ora Welcome!

Welcome to Aotearoa New Zealand and specifically Ōtautahi Christchurch, where we invite you to join us for the XIII SCAR Biology Symposium to be held from July 31st to Aug 4th, 2023.

Our goal is to bring together the world’s leading scientists and early career researchers in Antarctic Biology for the first face-to-face SCAR meeting in 3 years.

This meeting will offer four days of invited keynotes, plenaries, and concurrent sessions, with a mid-week break of excursions to allow attendees to enjoy some of the most spectacular parts of New Zealand’s South Island. Satellite meetings and workshops will be held during the weekends before and after the meeting.
The conference will be enriched by the tikanga (traditions) and mātauranga (knowledge) of New Zealand’s indigenous Māori people with a true dedication towards sustainability.

Ōtautahi Christchurch is the primary gateway to Western Continental Antarctica, especially Victoria Land and the Ross Sea region. Hosting the logistics operations for numerous National Antarctic Programmes (New Zealand, USA, Italy, Korea, and Germany).

Ōtautahi Christchurch is on the doorstep of the majestic Southern Alps, world-class ski-fields, lakes, spectacular coastlines, vineyards and national parks including Aoraki Mount Cook.

Christchurch has been hailed for its creativity and innovation, and delegates will have a chance to experience this energy first-hand by exploring our city of modern architecture while engaging in excellent science during the week. The conference will be held in the new state-of-the-art Te Pae Convention Centre sited on the banks of the Avon River in the heart of the city.

Please join us on this refreshing and exhilarating journey, and experience New Zealand from a rewarding scientific perspective, and leave with an appreciation for a small progressive country with a huge heart.

Prof. S. Craig Cary, Convenor


Local Organising Committee

  • Prof. S. Craig Cary
    University of Waikato
  • Assoc. Prof. Charles Lee
    University of Waikato
  • Dr Vonda Cummings
  • Prof. Ian Hawes
    University of Waikato
  • Assoc. Prof. Michelle La Rue
    University of Canterbury
  • Prof. Miles Lamare
    University of Otago
  • Dr Alexis Marshall
    University of Waikato
  • Prof. Ian McDonald
    University of Waikato
  • Dr Matt Pinkerton
  • Prof. Mary A. Sewell
    University of Auckland
  • Assoc. Prof. Matthew Stott
    University of Canterbury